Six Hats Of Thinking

Use a different 'hat' to generate different perspectives and ideas about an issue or situation. Six Thinking Hats can help you to look at problems from different perspectives, but one at a time, to avoid confusion from too many angles crowding your thinking.3

Using actual hats as part of the process reinforces the concept and makes it fun. 

    • White Hat - neutral, objective (facts, figures)
    • Red Hat - emotional view (how I feel)
    • Green Hat - creative thinking (new ideas and growth)
    • Black Hat - negative, pessimistic (devil's advocate)
    • Yellow Hat - positive, hope (sunshine)
    • Blue Hat - control, organizer, conductor (organizes the thinking, sets focus)


3 De Bono, Edward. Six Thinking Hats. Penguin books, 1985.

Print   Email